A Better Way to Learn

I’ve come to realize in life that you can learn things one of two different ways.

One: You can  go through the learning process from the beginning virtually on your own. Researching, experimenting, refining, succeeding, and possibly failing with little to no assistance or input from others.

Two: You can seek out and grow a relationship with someone who has already been down the road you’re desiring to travel and ask for their assistance and guidance in your learning process.

Both methods are perfectly acceptable ways to learn a new topic. Both methods involve you expanding your current knowledge base.  Assuming you put in the effort required, both methods will help you achieve your desired goal.

In my life, however, I have found that going it alone consumes CONSIDERABLY more time than learning from another. I’ve also found that going it alone FREQUENTLY involves more personal experiences with failure than when you learn from another. I don’t particularly like wasting time or experiencing failure, if I can avoid it.

I have often said that the BEST way to learn is to learn from someone else. To learn from their experiences, their successes, and even more importantly their failures. Although failures are a fact of life and typically teach us very important lessons, I believe failures consume valuable time in our lives and can cause unnecessary pain and suffering. And how much better would each of us be if we were able to LEARN from someone else’s failures and thereby avoid the same failures in our own life. I believe that learning from others provides a proverbial staircase in life helping us step up and over a difficult area in life we might not have to face if we would just learn from those who have gone before us.

I learned the hard way that it is better to learn from someone else than it is to go it alone. I hope you will listen to my words and realize that there’s a better way to learn than doing it by yourself, and that’s to learn from others.

About Ivan Bickett

I want to help people see that there is a better way to conduct business and life. If I can help, let me know.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

