Where do you stand?

So it hit me today. Do you know where you stand? With your employer? With your employees?  With your customers?

In my time as a supervisor I do not EVER recall a single employee coming to me and asking how he or she was performing on the job. If I did not go to them with some piece of feedback my employees would wait to find out exactly how I thought each them performed at their annual performance appraisal. Why wait? Why go an entire year not knowing how you’re performing according to the one that rates your performance?

When I was an employee I frequently went to my supervisor and asked for feedback. I do not believe I allowed more than three months to go by without me having a sit-down meeting to find out how I was performing. Where could I improve? What was I doing that I should not have been doing? How could I help make his or her life easier?

Another area you should know where you stand is with your employees. As a supervisor of other people are you providing your people with what they need in order to perform the job you are asking them to do? Do they have the right equipment? Skills? Authority?

As a supervisor are you being consistent with what you say and how you act? Are you holding everyone to similar standards or are you playing favorites? Do your employees know how you think they are performing?

Knowing where you stand with your customers is key if you want your business to stay healthy and thrive in the years to come. When is the last time you honestly asked a customer how well do they think you are serving them? Last week? Last month? Have you EVER asked any customer how they think you’re doing?

I think it’s time we all stopped being SURPRISED when it comes to where we stand. It’s time we start being PROACTIVE and ASK where do we stand.

About Ivan Bickett

I want to help people see that there is a better way to conduct business and life. If I can help, let me know.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Where do you stand?

  1. Chris says:

    I asked an employee once if he thought I would get upset if he did not follow through with a request. He said honestly he did not know. He had been with me 2 years and never seen me so much as raise my voice. I thought that was evidence enough. It was time to get to know each other better.

    • Ivan Bickett says:

      That is INSANE! Probably because I’m so HIGH STRUNG… people virtually NEVER wonder where they stand with me. It’s pretty obvious. And if you don’t know, ask, I’ll tell you.

      Glad you took the step to get to know them and allowed them to get to know you better. I think it’s very beneficial for your employees to know and respect you, and hopefully it’s a two way street.

      ~Ivan

Leave a Reply

