The best advice I’ve ever APPLIED

I think I’m like a lot of people in that I’ll discuss my ideas with those close to me and occasionally I’ll get a really good piece of advice. Again, like a lot of people, the story ends there. I’ve shared an idea, received some advice, and then do nothing with it.

The same could be said with a lot of the books I read. To me, reading is enjoyable. Given the choice of watching TV or reading, I’ll usually pick reading. And the vast majority of what I read is non-fiction books, typically business or self improvement related. And I tell myself that I’m reading these books for knowledge or to improve myself.

Do you want to know a secret? I, like a lot of other people I talk to, rarely EVER apply anything that I’ve learned from a book to real life.

And it’s not for lack of coming across ideas that could be applied to my life. If you look at the books I own you’ll see that most are highlighted (I love me some yellow highlighter). You’ll also see that it’s fairly common for me to underline important parts. And for those ideas that SCREAM AT ME because they ring so true in my ears I highlight, underline, AND put asterisks in the margins.

I do all that, but I still RARELY EVER apply anything I’ve learned from a book to my life.

However, this has started to change recently.

Since the beginning of 2011 I’ve listened to more than 100 interviews of successful entrepreneurs (links below to two great sites for interviews). And I’ve discovered that almost every single entrepreneur interviewed has a similar thread running from the beginning of their story to their present day success.

What is it? It’s simple really. So simple I’m afraid you’re going to over look the IMPACT it can and will have in YOUR life if you simply apply it.

Here it is:

DO SOMETHING!

That’s it. It sounds so simple. It might even look underwhelming (is that word? but please note I made it all caps to combat it’s underwhelming-ness). But without applying that little statement you will be like I was for so many years, dreaming your dreams but never acting on them.

This one little piece of advice, that I am doing my best to apply on a daily basis, is TRANSFORMING MY LIFE!

So you want to start a business? DO SOMETHING! Go sign up for your own blog. Go buy a domain. Go check out Free Agent Academy (link at bottom).

Want your business to stop floundering? DO SOMETHING! Revamp your website. Figure out how to reach more customers. Figure out where you’re overspending.

Want to find eternal significance to your life? DO SOMETHING! Pick up your Bible. Pray. Find a church to attend.

I’ll go so far as to say that in almost every instance where you want something in life, be it tangible, emotional, spiritual, the first is always going to be to DO SOMETHING!

Applying this one little piece of advice is completely transforming my life. And I believe it will do the same for you.

So please, DO SOMETHING!

(and then come back here and tell me and all the other readers all about it)

———–

CoachRadio.tv – Your Story

The Rise to the Top

Free Agent Academy

About Ivan Bickett

I want to help people see that there is a better way to conduct business and life. If I can help, let me know.
This entry was posted in Action and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The best advice I’ve ever APPLIED

  1. Jon White says:

    You are right Ivan, it sounds so simple, but yet so challenging. What I tell myself to keep me motivated to actually do something is that you got to start somewhere. It might not be 100% what you envision, but if you DO SOMETHING and get started on a dream you are more likely to accomplish that dream or goal than if you do nothing at all.

  2. Ivan Bickett says:

    Jon! I couldn’t agree more. For years I sat around and wanted the PERFECT business idea. I wanted to think of EVERY POSSIBLE situation or outcome. And until I mapped it ALL out I refused to act. FOR YEARS I DID THIS!

    What I’ve come to realize is I can sit around and do my BEST to think of everything and I will still only be able to make one statement that will be 100% accurate. I WILL miss SOMETHING!

    With that being the case, the best thing to do is GET STARTED NOW! Only by doing something will I discover what I TRULY need to know.

    Thanks for stopping by, Jon. Remember, I’m posting five days a week now so be sure to stop by every morning. And let me know if I can help you!

  3. kentjulian says:

    Great post, Ivan. Solid “live it forward” advice!

    Also, on another note, you’re an excellent writer.

    • Ivan Bickett says:

      Thanks, Kent! I REALLY appreciate you stopping by and taking the time to check this out.

      Also, THANKS for the compliment. I’ve had several folks tell me I do a good job writing. Which surprises me b/c I’ve always assumed it’s more of a weakness than a strength. I’m starting to rethink that though.

      Thanks again, Kent. Looking forward to meeting you in October at the Speak it Forward Boot Camp: http://speakitforward.com/

      ~Ivan

Leave a Reply

