Commenting suggestion

I do not profess to be a master of blogs or commenting on blogs. I don’t even profess to know what I’m doing for the most part. But even with my limited knowledge I would like to make a suggestion that I think could help you and your business out.

If you are interviewed for either a podcast or a blog I believe you should make certain to go back and comment on the podcast or blog you were interviewed in. If the blog or podcast is not setup to automatically subscribe you to that series of comments then you should click the subscribe button. By clicking the subscribe button you’ll then be notified when someone else comes along and comments on that particular blog or podcast. Whether it’s the same day, next week, or next year.

I suggest this because I’ve been listening to a lot of interviews with entrepreneurs lately. And I’m also prone to comment on those interviews. Typically with my comments I’m expanding upon a point made during the interview, asking a question, or making a suggestion. I would say that the majority of my comments could provide some benefit to the person being interviewed. But ONLY if that person knows I made the comment.

What I have found is that the MAJORITY of people that are interviewed DO NOT comment on the blog or podcast in which they are interviewed. Therefore the chances of them knowing that someone else has commented on their interview is not likely.

I realize that my comments may or may not have any impact on the person being interviewed. But can the same be said for all the other people that might leave a comment? I believe business is carried out between two PEOPLE. And by commenting on blogs or podcasts that interview you, as a business owner, you can increase your opportunities for getting in touch with more and more potential clients.

Commenting on your own interviews is just a suggestion, but one I hope you and I will both follow going forward.

About Ivan Bickett

I want to help people see that there is a better way to conduct business and life. If I can help, let me know.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Commenting suggestion

  1. Kristy says:

    Good advice, I get frustrated when I ask a question about something someone wrote and never get an answer. Maybe the question will make the writer think about something they haven’t thought of before, maybe the answer will help me understand some fundemental idea I haven’t grasped yet. Either way if you take the time to write it, or talk about it; take the time to listen to others.
    K

    • Ivan Bickett says:

      Fancy seeing you on here! I agree, when I first started commenting I was expecting to get responses. Not sure how I thought the interviewee was going to see my response since most hadn’t commented, maybe I thought they were watching the interview? Not sure. But what I found is it’s pretty common to get comments from the interviewer, since it’s his or her blog, but not the interviewee.

      If you want to see someone who has done this RIGHT go check out this link: http://www.coachradio.tv/077-coach-radio-your-story-greg-ng-a-show-about-frozen-food

      The interview was 9 MONTHS OLD when I commented on it and Greg Ng responded within minutes. SO impressed.

  2. justinowings says:

    The hard part about comments on the net is 1) the cost to leave a comment is low, so a great deal of comments received are of very low value, ask questions that have been answered (often many times over) elsewhere, and/or straight up spam 2) since these interviews/etc. are on other blogs, if those blogs don’t have a subscription method for the comments, the interviewee would have to routinely go back and check in on old posts, which is a lot to ask of someone who is popular enough to warrant an interview in the first place 🙂

    Call me jaded, but even as I try to respond to comments on blogs I run, I don’t get them all — and more and more I almost appreciate the barriers to entry on comments as it can be exceedingly obnoxious when someone is so discourteous as to demand answers to questions that have been answered (and the answers are publicly available and easy to find).

    Ok I’m jaded 🙂

    • Ivan Bickett says:

      Justin! Love it!

      And you’re SO right. I’ve also come to realize that the majority of comments are not what I consider “value added”. They’re not thought provoking. They do tend to ask a question that’s CLEARLY MARKED ON THE SIDE BAR BESIDE THE COMMENT IN THE FIRST PLACE! And that’s a shame. I’ve got another post coming about making your comments “value added”. Especially if you’re trying to get your name out there as a useful source of VALUABLE information.

      And I should have figured out how to include this little bit in the post, but I was trying to keep the word count low, but most of the interviews I’ve been listening to are of people still building their communities, not from what we would typically think of as celebrities or “big named” folks. That being said, I’ve commented on interviews with Greg Ng, who’s getting 40,000+ plus views per video per month, and Gary Vaynerchuk, New York Times Best Selling Author, and both of these guys responded to me with in an hour or two. Which completely BLOWS ME AWAY! I would expect the folks trying to BUILD their audience to be more likely to respond than the folks with HUGE audience, but that’s just not so.

      And you made a great point. If you’re trying to build an audience, the last thing you should do is be rude by HARASSING people to get your questions answered. Leave a comment, ask a question, and if you don’t get a response, move on!

  3. justinowings says:

    While I’ve not taken Steve Pavlina’s approach, I recall reading this a few years ago and it has stuck with me:

    http://www.stevepavlina.com/blog/2005/10/blog-comments/

    I’m also reminded of forums — I’ve installed/maintained various forums over the years with hundreds of members. What have I learned? One, forums are a great place to funnel people who like to be on forums and chat. Two, those people are hit or miss as far as commenting on the same site’s blog. Three, those people tend to feel entitled over time to special treatment simply because they are forum members and believe they “contribute” to the site. Four, forums tend to degrade over time in a very predictable manner as people jockey for status via post-counts, gathering groupies, etc.

    Overall, I see forums as, at best, slightly value added to a site — mostly only as a way to keep certain discussions at your site as opposed to somewhere else. But it’s not without a lot of cost by way of maintaining software, moderating comments, controlling against spambots, dealing with entitled forum members, etc. The truth is, as a website owner, forums contribute *very little value* to a site because the signal to noise ratio is so high. Again, it’s really about a barrier to entry — forums and blog comments have such low barriers to entry that the quality of posts you get is almost ALWAYS poor — at least, there is always a ton of noise.

    However, I like having easy feedback mechanisms and it’s very important to allow for the collection of feedback — because every once in awhile you get some real gems. And I do have a handful of forum members who have been exceedingly helpful. They’re just the diamonds in the rough.

    • Ivan Bickett says:

      Ok. First, I’ve got to figure out what happened. WordPress labeled this comment as spam, didn’t email me about b/c it was labeled spam, and so I’m just now seeing it. Need to figure out why it marked the comment as spam. I’m betting it’s b/c there’s an embedded link.

      And I’ve done VERY little with forums. Even from the angle of going to them and looking for information. I, like you, have found that the same question is asked a bazillion times. I also find that I’m too impatient to sift through the noise to find what I need.

      But I’m VERY glad you brought forums up right here. B/c I’ve been thinking about them a lot lately. Not so much in the “I want to start one” as I was thinking I might invest time in provide valuable information on one or two.

      And I can see the entitled mind set setting in. I can see that coming from more than just forum members. But I’m going to stop here. Time to get Alexander up.

      Thanks for stopping by, Justin. I’ll check the link a little bit later.

Leave a Reply

