Be you!

As a business owner, how are you presenting yourself to the world?

Speaking in broad terms, I think how you present yourself falls into two broad categories. You can either try and present what the world is wanting from you at that particular moment in time or you can present who you actually are to the world.

I’ve heard educated individuals argue on both sides of this discussion.

I have heard it said that if you want to start a business then you should look at what the market needs most at this point in time and start THAT business. Whatever it is. Regardless of your internal wiring. You see a need. You fill a need. Period.

I have also heard it said:

Don’t ask yourself what the world needs. Ask yourself what makes you come alive and then go and do that. Because what the world needs are people who have come alive.” (Howard Thurman).

The way I interpret this, be you and present that to world, because what the world needs is the real you.

In this case you look inside at how you have been made by God and what you have that is unique to offer the world and you do that.

Guess which field of thought I lean toward…

I lean towards being yourself and giving to the world the real you. Only then will you be fully alive.

And I don’t just say this because I like the quote by Howard Thurman, which I really do. I say this from experience. I have gained several positions in the past by being what it was the company hiring was looking for. In other words, I disguised who I was in order to make myself appear what they wanted. And let’s just say NONE of those situations turned out positively.

There have also been instances in the past when I was looking for a job that I decided I would present the “real” me to company doing the hiring and if they did not like what they saw, then we’d both be better off without each other. Some of these instances I got the job. And those jobs went GREAT. Some of those interviews were VERY SHORT and we both departed a little frustrated, but I believe much better off.

Some of you might be thinking, “What is this guy like?” And I’ll tell you.

I’m intense. I’m confident. I’m excitable. I’m full of energy. I tend to see numbers and facts, and ignore emotions and feelings. I go out of my way to help those I care about. I have a hard time getting over past wrongs (but fortunately I’ve learned how). I love my God, my family, and my friends. I’m self motivated and I’m over achieving. I’ve been accused of being a perfectionist in the past, but now I’ve learned not to ruin good with perfect. I’m all this and so, so much more.

Once I learned that trying to be who others wanted me to be didn’t work I would frequently use this line in interviews, “I am who I am, and what you see is what you get.” I always thought I was smart for coming up with that. And then I was told “what you see is what you get” did not originate with me (big let down).

But it’s true. I do my best now to present to the world who I am.

And I hope you’ll do the same.

~Ivan

About Ivan Bickett

I want to help people see that there is a better way to conduct business and life. If I can help, let me know.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

