One Thing by Justin Lukasavige

Justin Lukasavige courtesy CoachRadio.tv

This is the inaugural edition of One Thing. A series of guest posts by successful entrepreneurs and people actively pursing self employment where I ask them one question: “What is the one piece of advice you would give someone if they told you they were starting a business and you could only tell them one thing to help them out?” I’m starting this series out with a BANG! Today I’m bringing you Justin Lukasavige, founder of CoachRadio.tv, personal friend, and mentor. Here’s his response:

I’ve been thinking about success a lot lately. Some of my client’s businesses have taken off rapidly while others never get much momentum. Like a sparkler, it’s easy to start strong then quickly fizzle out.

Success takes teamwork. If you want a business that makes real money and helps a lot of people, you need a team. I’m not talking about managing hundreds of people in an office space larger than your house. I’ve been there, didn’t like it, and went back the other way. Now I work in a converted shed in my backyard with zero employees.

There’s no way you’ll be successful if you’re handling every detail in your business on your own and it’s foolish to think you can do it. As quickly as you can you need to figure out where you shine; not just what you’re good at, but what you’re the best at.

Those areas may not directly make you money, but if you’re great at them, that’s where you need to be.

Bookkeepers and CPAs are often great initial additions to your team. Why spend hours each week keeping track of details you don’t care about? Let the person who sleeps with a QuickBooks manual next to their bed do it; it’s what they live for.

I’m working with a team right now and they don’t want a large business. I’ve also pointed out how none of them want to actually lead the business they’re dreaming about. While they don’t want to pay someone to lead them, there’s just no way their business will go anywhere without that person.

If want your business to be successful, you need a team. There’s no way around it. As quickly as you can, start building yours.

Justin Lukasavige is a storywriter who lives his stories rather than watching them on TV. He authored the Six Figure Coaching Model and helps his community do what they love. Connect with Justin on twitter @pastdue.

About Ivan Bickett

I want to help people see that there is a better way to conduct business and life. If I can help, let me know.
This entry was posted in One Thing. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to One Thing by Justin Lukasavige

  1. GREAT reminder, Justin. And Ivan – buddy – great series! I’m extremely excited to see how the rest of this series turns out.

    Start building a team… check!

    – Josh

    • Ivan Bickett says:

      Josh! Thanks for stopping by! Justin DID make a great point, didn’t he?

      Did you see the video from yesterday? 005 – Investing in Others? The second half of the video I do a little intro into the One Thing Series.

      I’m EXTREMELY (I wish I could make that word even bigger and bolder) excited about the series. I’ve got some great folks coming up with some awesome points. Keep your eyes open on Wednesdays.

      ~Ivan

    • Thanks, Josh. I’m really excited about the series as well! It was an honor to be the first.

  2. Thanks for the opportunity to share, Ivan!

    • Ivan Bickett says:

      Any time, Justin! I REALLY appreciate your help and being the big kickoff for me! There’s going to be a lot of great points shared in this series.

      Let me know how I can return the favor for you!

      ~Ivan

  3. Any suggestions how to build a team when you are attempting to start a new business, but you don’t have any money? Here’s a blog title for you: Building a Team while Bootstrapping.

    It’s a great point. I’ve tried building businesses by myself while simply ignoring the parts of the business that I am ignorant about. I can testify that it doesn’t work out well!

  4. Great post, Great topic!
    I definitely don’t spend enough time thinking about this topic. Thankfully my wife handles the finances for me (she’s a CPA, inactive) which makes us good compliments.
    I’ve heard of people using VA’s, and I wish that I could put my un-employed acquaintances to work. Most of the people that i know that want “part time work” are doing ZERO to build useful skills, so… 🙂

    • Ivan Bickett says:

      Isn’t having a spouse that’s a compliment to your weaknesses a BLESSING! Skye balances me out in so many ways. She’s awesome. Sounds like your wife is too!

      I don’t personally have a VA at this time, but I will once A Bette Way of Business is hitting on all 8 cylinders. Because why would you focus on things that are not your specialty? So when the time comes, I’ll be looking for a VA that can fill in some of the wholes I have my own personal skill box.

      ~Ivan

  5. Alana Mokma says:

    “There’s no way you’ll be successful if you’re handling every detail in your business on your own and it’s foolish to think you can do it. As quickly as you can you need to figure out where you shine; not just what you’re good at, but what you’re the best at.”

    Justin, thank you for sharing this “one thing”! I tend to be the type who wants to control every aspect of a project/business and it is a good reminder to “let go” and let those who are better at specific things take care of them FOR me.

    • Ivan Bickett says:

      Justin made a great point, didn’t he?! I’ve yet to meet the person who is good at EVERYTHING. Yet most small business owners try and do it ALL! Then they get overworked and frustrated, which can lead to burn out and throwing in the towel.

      So focus on your strengths and get help from others in the areas you’re weak in. It’s a formula for success.

  6. Alana Mokma says:

    what is a VA?

Leave a Reply

