006 – Don’t Settle

I’ve had a sinkhole in my yard for the past few months. It started out as a simple indention in one spot. It ended up being one foot in diameter and about 5 feet deep. It looked just like someone had drilled a giant hole in my front yard.

It ended up being the remains of a tree that had been buried.

But due to settling, the hole got bigger and bigger, and became a HUGE pain in the butt.

Check this out:

Are you settling in your life? Are you staying in your current job because it’s the “safe”, “secure”, “smart” thing to do?

Remember, settling now causes problems down the road.

I should know. I settled for my different day jobs for MANY years. This has lead to high blood pressure, AWFUL headaches, and asthma attacks for the first time in my life (and I’m 32!!!).

DON’T SETTLE.

Recognize the symptoms, combat them with necessary actions, and move on to the life you WANT!

As always, let me know how I can help!

~Ivan

About Ivan Bickett

I want to help people see that there is a better way to conduct business and life. If I can help, let me know.
This entry was posted in Direction. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 006 – Don’t Settle

  1. Awesome. Sounds like your day yesterday was like mine. Keep your head up, walk fast, sip on ice water. 🙂
    Nice analogy with the Sinkhole.

    • Ivan Bickett says:

      Thanks, Jason!

      Yeah, that day was interesting. It was actually over two days I dug out the bottom and then filled the whole back in. SO MUCH FUN.

      And I’m AMAZED at how I am seeing ways to tie everyday situations back into helping people start a business or turn around a business that’s struggling. If you keep your eyes open for what you want, you’ll see it!

  2. Tony says:

    I took a job 9 years ago that I am still at today. I was a mess, and I was (in my head) unemployable. I got straigtened out and things got better, but then I played it safe. I didn’t keep growing and moving towards what I really wanted, because I felt like I shouldn’t be so wishful. Well, not only do I have a job I don’t care for, but now the pay has taken a severe dip. I was already digging my way out and I am now working towards my dreams, but it’s been difficult. Do what Ivan say’s here. Keep pushing towards what it is that you are made to do, don’t settle. Don’t let someone, or something come along and cover you up! Nice post Ivan, just found your blog here, and I wish you success.

    • Ivan Bickett says:

      TONY! So glad you found me. If you don’t mind me asking, how’d you do that? Very curious to know.

      I’ve played my entire working career “safe” up until I started A Better Way of Business. It’s finally time for me to put up or shut up. So I decided to go for it. Now, I want to make sure others are NOT doing the same thing I’ve done for so long. Don’t play it safe and avoid your dreams. GO AFTER THEM! Remember, tomorrow is not promised to you. If you keep waiting, one day you will find there is NO TOMORROW.

      Thanks again for stopping by Tony.

Leave a Reply

